4 Great breakfast ideas with power-house ingredients

Photo Credit – http://notable.smugmug.com/Toronto/i-qZm7fz4/0/L/chia1-L.jpg

I’ve rarely been one to eat breakfast on a normal day, in my adult life. I have a coffee and it curbs my appetite until I crave an early lunch. Here and there or on weekends I will have something that might  include an egg, time permitting. Oatmeal with melting peanut butter is on my radar in the winter the odd time when I wake up hungry. If I really make the effort I may have a smoothy. But in the last few years, I’ve heard about some unusual ingredients and I get curious about how to use them.

For instance, I have use kale sauteed in with pasta and I thought it was very yummy, but I hadn’t considered it as a breakfast food. Then goji berries…. I had bought some from the bulk food store to try. They were certainly tasty but wondered how they would bake into things but again never as part of a breakfast. Chia seeds have become more main stream since their sprouting introduction as Chia Pet® in 1977. Note: the Chia Pet® sprouts should not be considered edible because of the possible lead in the clay mold, but are fun none-the-less.

Chia Pet® image used courtesy Joseph Enterprises, Inc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the benefits of these power-house ingredients for a great breakfast

Goji Berries: high in vitamin C and beta-carotene

Kale: high in fiber, vitamin K, Iron and anti-oxidants

Figs: high in calcium, iron, foliate, magnesium and potassium

Chia Seeds: high in Omega-3, soluble fiber, phosphorus and manganese

Hemp Seeds: high in essential fatty acids, Omega-6, contains the 9 essential amino acids that the body can not produce and is a complete protein

Flax: high in fiber, B vitamins, magnesium, manganese and Omega-3

Here you will find four recipes that include berry flax oatmeal, chia pudding, a kale and avocado smoothie and fig, persimmon yogurt parfait! We’re off to a good start!

Chia Pet® is the registered trademark belonging to Joseph Enterprises, Inc.

Leave a Reply

